The beginning of the school year is upon us and our kids are heading off to school.  This is a day of mixed feelings for us parents.  Feelings of joy and enthusiasm for some and feelings of sadness and trepidation for others.  And for many, a mixture of all of the above.  For me, I would subscribe to a little bit of all of those feelings and the addition of another; disbelief.  My youngest son started high school today.  For my wife and I, that means all of our kids are in high school.  Is that possible?  I mean I remember thinking and saying, “yeah, one day all three of our kids will be in high school.”  But, is it possible that that day is today?!?  I am feeling a bit numb about that.  Next year we will send our oldest off to college and the year after that the next.  Holy cow!  Where did the time go and what happened to all those great ideas and plans I had to prepare my kids and myself for this day?

If you are like me today you are feeling a bit anxious.  Anxious about whether or not our kids are ready for whatever this new school year holds and anxious about the choices they will make.  Anxious about whether or not they will live out the morals and truths that we have been teaching them.  As I found myself worrying about those things this morning the Lord brought to mind this verse:

Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. – Philippians 4:6 NASB

The most productive thing I can do for my kids today (and everyday) is to pray for them.  Placing them in the hands of our Heavenly Father is my greatest contribution to them today.  Join me in letting go this morning by praying for our kids.

