If you really want to do something, you’ll find a way.  If you don’t, you’ll find an excuse”–John Rohn

Over the next couple of weeks I am going to be writing about becoming an intentional parent.  Before I begin doing that I want to clarify what I mean about being intentional.  Intentional, for the sake of these posts, means:

  • Doing some things that do not or may not come natural (Proverbs 22:6)
  • NOT doing some things that do come natural (Proverbs 14:12)
  • Taking deliberate action (James 1:22) – Having a plan and executing that plan
  • Looking at your priorities — and making needed adjustments (Romans 12:1 & 2)

As the father of three teenagers, I sometimes find myself having regrets over things that I wish I had done with my kids.  That way of thinking doesn’t accomplish anything.  My focus needs to be on what I can do with my kids going forward.  I have one year left with my oldest son at home, two years with my daughter and four years with my youngest son.  I am choosing to focus on making the most of the time I have left with them at home.  That means, for me, re-prioritizing some things in my life.

So, as I strategize some simple ways on how best to do this in my own home, my hope is that you will gain some insight into how you might do this in your home.  Let me give you a few thoughts on how we will explore and expand this over the coming weeks.

  1. Why Be an Intentional Parent?
  2. Intentional Discipleship
  3. Intentional Ceremonies & Traditions
  4. Intentional Conversations
  5. Intentional Equipping

I hope that you will expand on my thoughts as we go through this by posting comments or ideas and additional thoughts that you have on each of these entries.  My hope and prayer is that as we dialog with one another we will help each other become the parents that God has called us to be.

Iron Sharpens Iron, So one man sharpens another.  –Proverbs 27:17 NASB

