This week I’m continuing a series of introductory messages on different verses that have been important to me at different times in my life. Originally, I planned on teaching Romans 8:11, but it’s been taught recently. Instead, I’ll be teaching on 1 Thessalonians 5:19. The Holy Spirit can be that “other guy” when we think about God. It’s difficult to understand exactly what the Holy Spirit does and what His work means to us. What I love about Romans 8:11 is the promise that the power that raised Christ from the dead is at work in us. That’s exciting to think about! But on the other hand, 1 Thessalonians 5:19 says that we have the power to quench the Spirit.

If we want to make use of that incredible power, we have to stop quenching the Spirit with our unbelief, our sin, and the busy-ness of life. Don’t be afraid to talk to your students about the Holy Spirit. If you want to learn more about the Spirit and the Trinity, here are a couple of resources I would suggest:

