Many parents today recognize the need to check up on their kids internet activity but lack the knowledge and tools to do it effectively.  There are a number of tools available to assist you in this effort.  Companies like Safe Eyes, XXX Church and my personal favorite, Covenant Eyes.  My wife and I have chosen to monitor our kids on-line activity as opposed to filtering it.  What’s the difference?  Filtering keeps you from going to a particular site; monitoring, on the other hand, allows you to go anywhere but, leaves a visible trail.  It is the difference between protecting your kids and equipping your kids.  As a Dad, one of my jobs certainly is to protect them.  However, a far more important job is to prepare them and equip them to live in a world where technology will always be a part of their life.  Monitoring my kids activity provides me with an opportunity to have on-going conversations about their on-line activity.

Check out this blog post from Covenant Eyes for more on these issues:

Article

